Congressional District Three and Six Redistricting Meeting

League of Women Voters of Washington - Action Alert

Put Yourself on the Map

July 26, 2021, 7:00 p.m. – 9:00 p.m.

The once-a-decade redistricting process is underway in Washington State.  Every 10 years, after the federal census, we redraw the boundaries of our congressional and legislative electoral districts to ensure that each district represents an equal number of residents.

To ensure that our congressional and legislative district maps take into account as many local ideas as possible, the Washington State Redistricting Commission needs to hear from you. We need you to identify communities that need a greater voice and to say how to make your district competitive and representative. 

Don’t wait, register for public comment

Testifying doesn’t take long. Follow these simple steps:

  • Register and join the meeting with the link sent to you.
  • Prepare to talk on Zoom for 2 minutes.
  • Introduce yourself and which congressional and legislative districts you live in.
  • Say what you like or dislike about your districts.
  • Share a personal story about why this is important to you.
  • End by repeating, in one sentence, how you’d like the commissioners to draw the maps.

Detailed instructions for testifying in virtual public meetings are provided and the League of Women Voters has developed online video training explaining the redistricting process, writing effective testimony, and testifying. Free interpreter and translation services are available.

You can help the LWVWA reach our goal of 2,000 people testifying. Everyone counts. 

Which Congressional District do you live in?
Find your districts here.

The 3rd Congressional District is in the southwestern portion of the state and includes Clark, Cowlitz, Klickitat, Lewis, Pacific, Skamania & Wahkiakum, and a portion of Thurston Counties. The 3rd Congressional District includes all of Legislative Districts( LDs) 17, 18, 49, most of LD 20, and parts of LDs 2, 14, and 19.

The 6th Congressional District is in the western portion of the state and includes Clallam, Grays Harbor, Jefferson, Kitsap, and portions of Mason and Pierce Counties. The 6th Congressional District includes all of Legislative Districts (LDs) 23, 24,and 26 and parts of LDs 19, 27, 28, 29, and 35.

Any questions, please contact Alison McCaffree, LWVWA Redistricting Issue Chair, at 

%d bloggers like this: